Simon-Widmer Award

CHF 5,000.- and trophy

The Simon-Widmer Award in memory of Prof Wilhelm Simon and Prof Michael Widmer honors distinguished scientists for their contribution to fundamental and applied analytical science and the education of analytical scientists.

Past Award Winners

2019: Prof. Eric Bakker, University of Geneva

2017: Prof. Takehiko Kitamori, The University of Tokyo

2015: Prof. Detlef Günther, ETH Zurich

2009: Prof. Günter Fuhr, retired (Fraunhofer IBMT)

2006: Prof. Renato Zenobi, ETH Zurich

2004: Prof. Barry Karger, Northeastern University, Boston

2002: Prof. Ruedi Aebersold, ETH Zurich

2000: Prof. Csaba Horváth (†2004)


Simon-Widmer Award


Nomination for 2021

Nominations are invited from organizations and individuals. Self-nominations are not admitted.

A nomination must include:

  1. A brief curriculum vitae of the proposed nominee (max 3 pages).
  2. A list of 20 of the nominee's most important scientific publications.
  3. A nomination letter (emphasizing the research area and the continuous and innovative contributions in analytical sciences on which the nomination is based).

The documents listed under 1-3 should be sent electronically as a single pdf file to This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. (e.g. nominee name-simon-widmer.pdf). Supporting letters should also be submitted electronically.
The deadline for all documents to reach the Swiss Chemical Society is November 30, 2020. An international committee will evaluate the candidates and will decide about the winner in early 2021.