Grammaticakis-Neumann Prize

CHF 5'000

The Grammaticakis-Neumann Prize is awarded to a promising young scientist for outstanding accomplishments in the field of experimental or theoretical photochemistry. The prize is announced internationally and is not restricted to persons affiliated with academic institutions. On the deadline for submission of nominations, the candidate must be under 40 years old (i.e. 40th birthday after the deadline) and may not be a tenured professor or hold a managerial position in industry.
The prize is awarded every two years.

Nomination for 2021

Nominations are invited from organizations and individuals. Self-nominations are admitted.

A nomination must include:

  • A brief curriculum vitae (max 2 pages).
  • A list of 5 of the nominee's most important scientific publications.
  • A nomination letter.
  • Not more than two seconding nomination letters.

The documents (language E/D/F) listed under 1-3 should be sent electronically as a single pdf file to  This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.  (e.g. nominee name-Grammaticakis.pdf). Seconding letters should also be submitted electronically.

The deadline for all documents to reach the Swiss Chemical Society is September 30, 2020.

Past Grammaticakis-Neumann Prize Winners

2019: Prof. David Sarlah, University of Illinois, Urbana USA

2017: Prof. Robert Knowles, Princeton University, USA

2015: Prof. Natalie Banerji, University of Fribourg

2014: Dr. Erwin Reisner, Cambridge, UK

2013: Dr. Uwe Pischel, Huelva, ESP

2012: Prof. Hans Jakob Wörner, ETH Zurich

2011: Dr. Marina Kuimova, UK

2010: Prof. Sivaguru Jayaraman, USA

2008: Prof. Alexander Heckel, Germany

2007: Prof. Alberto Credi, Italy 

2006: Prof. Torsten Fiebig, Chestnut Hill, USA; Prof. Hans-Achim Wagenknecht, Regensburg, Germany

2005: Dr. Dario Bassani, France

2002: Prof. Johan Hofkens, Belgium

2001: Dr. Nicola Armaroli, Italy

2000: Prof. Dirk Guldi, USA

1999: Prof. Werner Nau, Switzerland; Prof. Eric Vauthey, Switzerland

1997: Prof. Axel Griesbeck, Germany

1996: Prof. Matthew Zimmt, USA

1995: Prof. Luisa de Cola, Italy1994: Prof. Pedro Aramendìa, Argentina

1992: Prof. Mark van der Auweraer, Belgium

1991: Prof. Vaidyanathan Ramamurthy, USA

1990: Prof. Wolfgang Rettig, Germany

1987: Prof. Martin Demuth, Germany

1985: Prof. Ian Gould, USA; Prof. Anthony Harriman, UK